SO THE LATEST IN THE SAGA IS…

…well, I’m still waiting on the call, lol.

Ain’t that life? My whole life revolves around what’s said therefore I’m still…waiting.

Bah.

So summer has hit with a bang here in NC’ville, how about for y’all? This directly affects me because I spend as much time as I can outside. I’m not one to sit around staring at 4 walls… I don’t have a tv (permanently bed-bound, paralyzed roommate does and her sister has it set on the Hallmark love story channel…24 hours a day…guess who despises Hallmark love stories…)

Ennyway, so…outside is best. Its also quieter out here. The screamers, yellers, hollerers, moaners, and groaners stay inside, lol. They go at it, off and on, 24 hours a day. Fun!!! Gaagh.

(It also smells better outside…)

So outside it is.

How about y’all??

No IN the sun, though, cause ouch.

Now, here’s a thing I posted elsewhere that I wanted to share here. Feel free to add to it and/or pass along.

Thinky Thoughts

If you have to place someone you actually like, much less love, in a rest/nursing/rehab home…

First: don’t, unless you ABSOLUTELY MUST. But if so, read on.

Make sure you write or sticky label EVERYTHING they have there. Things have a habit of growing legs and it’s usually not to other inmates.

Ensure they have their own decent shampoo, body wash, deodorant/antiperspirant, toothbrush, toothpaste, dry shampoo, face/body lotion/cream, etc. because the facility will barely (and grudgingly) provide the very cheapest, harshest versions of these things.

Same goes for bandaids, wraps, and other things made by Bandaid, Curad, etc. (The bandaids barely stick 2 hours…)

The food will be generally unpalatable at best. They choose to purchase the very cheapest lots from food supply/delivery warehouses. Plan on bringing your loved one lots of…everything. Often. (I would kill to be able to afford delivery sometimes.)

Same goes for drinks. There is no sort of “beverage center” unless you count vending machines. Here “drinks” are served with the meal – a half cup container of super sweet oj and a half cup of watered down, super sweet cranberry juice, decaf coffee, and milk..lunch has watered down (un for me) sweet tea, decaf coffee, or milk…same for dinner. But you can have all the water you want!! So if your person likes sodas, juice, juice drinks, actual coffee, teas, etc., you will have to provide them plus cash for the machines.

If your person has to use glorified diapers, plan on providing those, too. What they expect inmates to use is of the thinnest and cheapest “quality” imaginable.

Same with the tissues. The boxes are less than half the thickness and a couple inches shorter than Kleenexes. Srsly.

If your person has pets, you now have them.

The end.

I could go on…and on…but I figure you’re tired of reading by now.

All I can say is that people with caring, mobile family are incredibly lucky — they have an “outside” advocate and are treated exponentially better, plus they get KFC and Arby’s when they want, lol. I imagine having someone come visit for an hour would be amazing but I do love getting cards!

And tag – you’re it! If you think of something to add, please do. Your mileage may vary.

☕☕☕☕☕

So my status hasn’t changed. Still broke and legless. Wheee!!!! Not. Sigh.

**waves with a shrug**

Well wishes definitely appreciated. And, honestly, donations, too. Bah. I hate asking.

~Mer

Ubiquitous PayPal link

Remember, I now have absolutely no money at all so what I do have comes directly from donations. Than you from the bottom of my shriveled li’l heart!

So there’s that.

Happy Coffeeying.

Bye again.

✨🌺🌺🌺☕🌺🌺🌺✨

3 thoughts on “SO THE LATEST IN THE SAGA IS…

  1. I’m so sad that you are in such a predicament. I’m happy you are able to go outside, this heat dome though is pretty sticky. My grandma was in rehab and I had to advocate for her everyday and label all her clothes. It was crazy. How are your pets doing? I hope the people watching them are taking good care of them. Summer is hopefully a happier time with beautiful skies and flowers. Keep us updated and try to keep your spirits up.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Nicole – Thank you so much for your kind words. Staying positive in a place like this is almost impossible but at least I have y’all!
    Unfortunately my cat passed away before I ever got to see him again and it broke my heart, but I’m glad to say that my little old doggie is still barking right along!!

    Like

  3. I remember you posted about your poor kitty, it’s so hard to lose a pet. I can’t imagine not being there for it. I’m really glad to hear that you have your puppers still and he’s doing well. Mine are pouting because the heat is keeping them outside. I know positivity can be hard to find but I’m really happy to hear how you are doing when you post. It has been hot and sticky here in the mitten but I think the heat is finally breaking now that my job (outside in corn fields) is done, lol. My husband and I are turning into vampires after being out in the full direct sun for two straight weeks. Seriously though, MI never gets this much full sun until we have to be outside working in it, hehe.

    Like

Ahh, you found me. No clue why they stuck me ALL THE WAY DOWN HERE, but see that "Comment" box? Have at it!