GENERIC UPDATE – SKIP UNLESS BORED

This interruption in your daily (nightly?  hey, it’s possible) life is just to confirm that yes, I do indeed yet live.   Sort of. 

While I’m no longer reeling so badly from the death in my family, as a member of the “chronic bronchitis” club, apparently the time has come once again for me to, erm, (try to) cough up my membership dues. 

Hacking season is upon me.

This year’s dues have hit pretty hard (I reckon emotional devastation will do that to a body) and honestly, typing and concentration are both kind of hard to accomplish when you’re trying to see what the inside of your spleen looks like. 

I’d say I’m barkin’ like a seal but I don’t wanna trigger TOO many SSSSS flash-backs.  Ok, I totally do…I admit it…that’s why there’s brain bleach as the final chapter, yo.

In the meantime feel free to browse/re-browse? my collection of one-shots, parodies (proceed with caution with a couple of them…just ask veteran readers), and completed fics.  As with any fanfic writer, reviews/re-reviews? are always appreciated (especially when the words are all nice and sweet!), so go for it if you’re so inclined.

Hope you have a great rest-of-your-week…Imma go dope myself up again. 

Nyquil, Vicks, ginger/thyme tea, ginger/green tea, Gypsy Cold Care teas (gaaagh…so far the only tasty one is the chamomile but the Throat Coat – horrible violation of licorice’s more pleasant personal properties, y’all – seemed to [vaguely] help my voice [somewhat] try to make another [brief] appearance), hot beef and chicken soups and broths (not mixed; that’s just gross), hot lemon toddies (ok, just one cause ew), and various and assorted remedies have been attempted.

Ok, ok, the Nyquil is actually DAYquil and in tablet form at that – I’m sidelined, y’all,  and it’s not nice to torture the sick with *THAT* horrid taste.

Fwiw, I’d be on preddy, better inhalers, and the good chewy cough syrup but my doctor has turned into a fuckwitted jackass and I don’t feel like trying to break another one in just now.   I have limited patience at the very, very best of times.  This is not one of those times.  Also, I hate going to the doctor – I’m positive they have you wait in the communal sickroom hoping you’ll contract something else so you’ll have to come back after it incubates in a vicious never-ending cycle.

So…yeah, that’s where I’m currently at: coughing/hacking/seal-barking limbo.  Take your vitamins and get plenty of sleep and don’t be around sick assholes who gleefully and oh-so-generously donate their germs to you like you’re some sort of science project.  That’s what the back of the fridge is for. 

Yeah, a “slight cold” is what started all this bullshit.

(cough)

~Mer

35 thoughts on “GENERIC UPDATE – SKIP UNLESS BORED

  1. You poor lamb! My nose feels like I snorted bleach from the 3rd month of a mold cedar combo. My to do list has “Try not to let allergies kill me” on it. I hope the crud goes away soon and you get to breathe sweet sweet oxygen without dislocating anything soon.

    Like

  2. I do hope you feel better soon! It’s been horrible around here with flu and stomach viruses. Had to take my daughter to ER twice last weekend due to flu, sinusitis and ear infection. Would have only been once if first idiot doctor took her seriously! Thankfully second doctor did and actually treated her. Hang in there, it has to get better, right?

    Like

  3. I prescribe patience and think of joyful things. If depression can deteriorate a state of health, joy can recover it. Patience will help you to pass the time (because they say that time heals everything).

    Like

  4. Poor dear, you need some intense TLC on top of the medications you are taking. That and time are the only answer unfortunately. Take care of yourself and this will eventually be over.

    Like

  5. Pingback: 1.02 – perfecta999

  6. I hope you feel better soon. I just saw a natural remedy for sinusitis. Grate ginger root mix with apple cider vinegar. Let it sit in a jar for 7 days. Open jar place a towel over your head and sniff. Said it cleared your sinuses right up. It also said you could boil it then place a towel over your head and breathe it in. Now if you could only smell afterwards it would be great. Lol. Feel better soon!

    Like

  7. Coincidentally I had just finished re-reading Valentines Night when your message popped up and was deciding which story to re-read . If only we had a friendly neighborhood love of our lives vampire to drop by and heal whatever ails us like lucky Miss Sookie. Hope you are feeling better soon so you can at least write about said vampire to soothe your soul.

    Like

  8. I feel your pain 😦 If you have congestion Mucinex can help. I have been using my diffuser with Eucalyptus oil and I think it has made a difference. That may only be in my mind though. This might be the year I have that drain installed in my sinuses so I can turn on the tap and just let everything run out instead of blowing my nose off. Truly! How much snot can one person produce in a 24 hour period! Hope we all get better soon, Spring is just around the corner 😀 Along with more allergies 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Fortunately, colds and such get better with age (you’ve met the little buggers before and are now resistant to that strain). Unfortunately, not so with the allergies. At least that’s how it works with me; I haven’t had a cold in years. I’m older than dirt.
    So with all my accumulated wisdom I declare: love you Mer, feel better.

    Like

  10. Like treewitch703, I hadn’t had a cold in years until my husband brought one home for me.
    Like the See’s Chocolates he brought home two weeks ago, neither helped my health. Oh yeah, I’m Diabetic. I think he’s NOT trying to kill me, just trying to give me my favorite things – not the cold, the chocolate.

    I did have that terrible cough for two weeks straight, but got a shot for it and it eventually went away. The allergies stayed though and I decided that I needed new allergy meds. So I started buying small bottles at Walmart, and finally found one that worked again. I totally understand about the amount of snot, Missingjasamalways, I feel like a snail leaving trails.

    Meridian, I used to use a Vicks humidifier for my bronchitis when I was (much) younger and still smoked. It seemed to help. Plus, honey lemon tea. I didn’t bother with teapots – made in on the stove in quarts!
    Hope you feel better soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I feel for you am in the same boat right now 🙂 Daughter gave me cold which triggered COPD flare up (chronic bronc type) fortunately I have predisone and a non invasive ventilator at home so hopefully no hospital stay. Staying away from any other meds except what I have to take. So I will be hacking and barking and coughing with you. I don’t like teas of any kind so I am sending those all your way I will just stick to flavored waters and lemon-lime drinks. I hope you feel better soon. Here is a molten lava cake– they make me feel better 🙂

    Like

  12. I know the feeling of coughing. One cold that starts me coughing and I cough until the weather turns warm. My bronchitis turned into Asima or how ever you spell it. If I start coughing for what ever reason in the cold temperatures I don’t stop coughing until it warms up again it sucks.

    Like

  13. Oh, poor you! So sorry. I feel you completely. My slightly scratchy throat 8 days ago turned into a massive snot-fest last weekend, but then I bypassed the usual bronchitis and went straight into pneumonia. At this point, every cough(ing fit) hurts so damn bad I wanna cry- and sometimes I do, but that hurts too. Finally getting better, but only got antibiotics yesterday. I wish you better, dearest Mer and not just for the selfish reasons of needing (NEEDING!) to read your wonderful works of fiction. 🙂 (I reread Anticipation AGAIN!) Do take care and know that there are many out here sending you positive energy and wishing you well.
    Best,
    Terryl

    Like

  14. thenakedpears: Allergies are seriously evil. It’s like the planet has decided to see just how quickly it can fuck your body over. (Peroxide seems to kill mold’s ‘roots’ more effectively than bleach, oddly enough. Research using OxyClean to get rid of active mold and spores.) Hope you’re doing better by now!

    Like

  15. mom2goalies: Aww, man, your poor kid! I hope she’s all fine and better by now. When shit hits, seems like it all wants to hit at once. (And in my own experience, doctors suck green oozing rectum.)

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Yeah, she’s pretty much back to normal. Just still a bit stuffy but with this crazy weather in NE PA it could be allergies already, sigh. Hope things are looking up for you too!

    Like

  17. cari1973: You’re exactly right. And even if the good thoughts aren’t that easy to come by, you can take faith from the fact that you’re actively trying. ❤

    Like

  18. valady1: Thanks, hon. I think we all need about three months being waited on hand and foot at a nice non-spring-break beach somewhere. That’d be nice…

    Like

  19. fffbone: The weather here has been creepily warm (off and on) for a while now so that’s been helping. Hope you’re feeling better by now? Winter crud takes forever to evict after it settles in.

    Like

  20. bbrock525: I love ACV – it’s handy for a lot of uses – and ginger is great in tea. Having them mixed together? That sounds stronger than I am…but: can’t hurt to sniff! Heh, srsly, bet it’s a week before you can smell anything afterward, though!

    Liked by 1 person

  21. motomary: We sooo need a friendly neighborhood vampire ready and willing to dose out the healing wrist-sips…and if he happened to look like Eric? I…wouldn’t complain… *wanders off dreaming*

    Like

  22. missingjasamalways: My allergies have decided to use me as a test subject to see just how quickly one human being can drown in their own…fluids. Mucinex is a godsend. Ah, spring…how I LOATHE thee… *reaching for more eucalyptus oil…

    Like

  23. treewitch703: For the longest time it seemed that the allergies kept the colds at bay, but now, I think they’ve decided to join forces. Little bastards. ❤ Here's to your allergies deciding to go on a permanent vacation!

    Like

  24. gaijinvamp: As a fellow diabetic, I totally understand. When family/friends give/send me sweets, I go to my mantra: “They’re not trying to kill me, really, they’re not…Thank God it’s not the ‘sugarfree’ version… They just love me and want me to be happy… Thank God it’s not the ‘sugarfree’ version…”

    I’ve tried all the usual brands available and unfortunately the only one that does anything noticeably helpful for me is Benadryl, and it turns me into a grumpy zombie. Grumpy zombies aren’t fun to be around. But…at least it turns my nose off, so there’s that.

    Traditional Medicinal’s Gypsy Cold Care tea is right nice, and chai green/jasmine green/chamomile green/green green…lol…teas are nice, too, with a splash of lemon or lime (can’t eat honey so I go overboard with the Splenda – and IDC who says what – Stevia tastes like fermented old sock juice). Steaming hot chicken broth (flavored however you like) is great to sip on; been on a broth kick for a bit now. And I”m addicted to Vicks! Do you ever use the little Vicks inhaler sticks? They’re a…noticeable…punch in the sinuses, too. Hope your cold has run away from home!

    Like

  25. suzyq591suzy: As a fellow COPD-CB sufferer, yeah, that shit sucks. *thieving your preddy – do wish I had some but detest going to the dr – always seem to walk away with yet another nasty* We need to start a hack/bark/cough quartet or something, fame is sure to follow… I honestly really do NOT like green tea but it’s good for ya, so I eased my way into drinking it by mixing it halfsies with grape juice – strong, beautiful grape juice… It helps. Mixing them with lemon-lime sodas, or adding dehydrated lime powder (TrueLime) helps, too. (Green tea tastes like boiled grassy socks to me.) Hope you’re feeling a lot better by now!

    Liked by 1 person

  26. tleel: Asthma sucks runny donkey ass. Talk to your doctor, you probably need an emergency inhaler especially to help with that transition from warm to cold. (As a fellow asthma and COPD-Chronic Bronchitis sufferer, yup.)

    Like

  27. teachert99: Ohhh man, your lungs went straight past Go and went for Home, eh? Poor thing! And considering that there’s really no true cure for either? Ugh. You can treat the symptoms and…cough. And that’s about it. Cursing helps, though. When you get to the point that coughing is so damn painful that you breathe shallowly in a desperate attempt to keep from sparking off another round, wrap something TIGHT around your diaphragm/lower ribs area. It gives your abdominals a sense a security and something to “”hold them in”” when you do have to cough. It’ll still hurt, but not quite as badly I’ve found. We probably had the same type of cold that mutated from sore/scratchy throat to FULL BODY (lung) INVASION. Whatever it was, especially when combined with allergies, it was (is) EVIL. I do hope you’re feeling better now. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  28. Dearest Mer, Thank you so much for the tip of wrapping my abs. I haven’t thought of that before. Of course it makes sense- when I’m coughing badly and it hurts horribly, I do kinda myself and press in. Well- and I do curse a lot. It’s interesting- I curse so much more now as a 52 yr old woman (and more creatively) than I ever did in my youth. 🙂 I truly hope you are recovered- I do need your stories. Best to you!

    Like

  29. teachert99: I really, really hope that tip helped. I know the kind of pain you’re describing and ugh, it’s so harsh. Hope you’re just plain feeling better by now, though. Heh, and srsly, like you the older I get the better/more often/more fluently I cuss. I think I’m a qualified master by now.

    Liked by 1 person

Ahh, you found me. No clue why they stuck me ALL THE WAY DOWN HERE, but see that "Comment" box? Have at it!

